Loading Events The National Network of Legal Clinics for the Arts’ National Forum – Alberta Dance Alliance
  • This event has passed.

The National Network of Legal Clinics for the Arts’ National Forum

The National Forum’s purpose is to bring together lawyers, law students, art organizations, and artists from across the country to discuss how we can increase access to justice for the arts sector. We wanted to invite you to participate in these conversations, and represent the voice of your specific discipline.

Explore and Register for Events!

Here is the jam-packed schedule of Forum events spread out over the 11th, 12th and 13th of May:

May 11 – Meet & Greet Day

Keynote Event: Pivoting to Digital for Writers – Time TBA

Legal Types Meet & Greet – 10:00 AM – 11:00 AM PST, 11:00 AM – 12:00 PM MST, 1:00 PM 2:00 PM EST, 2:00 PM – 3:00 PM AST

Law Students Meet & Greet – 11:00 AM – 12:00 PM PST, 12:00 PM – 1:00 PM MST, 2:00 PM -3:00 PM EST, 3:00 PM – 4:00 PM AST

Regional Committees Meet & Greet – 11:00 AM – 12:00 PM PST, 12:00 PM – 1:00 PM MST, 2:00 PM – 3:00 PM EST, 3:00 PM – 4:00 PM AST

May 12 – Legal Resources Day

Keynote Event: Introducing the Legal Self Assessment and Learning Tool (LSALT) – 12:00 PM – 2:00 PM PST, 1:00 PM – 3:00 PM MST, 3:00 PM – 5:00 PM EST, 4:00 PM – 6:00 PM AST
Created by the Pacific Legal Education & Outreach Society (PLEO) and presented byPLEO Technical Director Anju Singh, the LSALT is a simple and low barrier tool that helps your non-profit understand its legal obligations and compliance through an interactive experience.

Meet the Artists’ Legal Information Society (ALIS, Nova Scotia) – 7:30 AM – 8:30 AM PST, 8:30 AM – 9:30 AM MST, 10:30 AM – 11:30 AM EST, 11:30 AM – 12:30 PM AST

Meet Artists’ Legal Advice Services (ALAS, Toronto) – 8:00 AM – 9:00 AM PST, 9:00 AM – 10:00 AM MST, 11:00 AM – 12:00 PM EST, 12:00 PM – 1:00 PM AST

Meet Artists’ Legal Services Ottawa (ALSO, Ottawa) – 10:00 AM – 11:00 AM PST, 11:00 AM – 12:00 PM MST, 1:00 PM – 2:00 PM EST, 2:00 PM – 3:00 PM AST

Meet the Legal Aid Manitoba University Law Clinic (Manitoba)- 10:00 AM – 11:00 AM PST, 11:00 AM – 12:00 PM MST, 1:00 PM – 2:00 PM EST, 2:00 PM – 3:00 PM AST

Meet Pacific Legal Education & Outreach (PLEO, BC)- 11:00 AM – 12:00 PM PST, 12:00 PM – 1:00 PM MST, 2:00 PM – 3:00 PM EST, 3:00 PM – 4:00 PM AST

Meet the Clinique Juridique des Artistes de Montreal (CJAM)- Time TBA

Meet the CreatiUM – Intellectual Property Legal Clinic (Quebec) – Time TBA

 

May 13 – Advocacy Day

Keynote event: Board Table Disruption – Time TBD

Arts Funders Roundtable– 10:00 AM – 11:00 AM PST, 11:00 AM – 12:00 PM MST, 1:00 PM – 2:00 PM EST, 2:00 PM – 3:00 PM AST

Volunteer Lawyers for the Arts: USA edition– 12:00 PM – 1:00 PM PST, 1:00 PM – 2:00 PM MST, 3:00 PM – 4:00 PM EST, 4:00 PM – 5:00 PM AST

Visit our website to learn more about each event and to register to attend.

Venue

Online
Canada